Rolling out the red carpet for business


Take hundreds of glamorous evening dresses, stylish tuxedos, the red carpet, beautiful tables dressed in gold and our very own spectacular Voice of Aotearoa….


…add 430 people from the region’s businesses, local dignitaries and politicians…


…Bring them all together in the brand new Lower Hutt Events Centre enjoying excellent food and wine…


…and you have a fabulous evening of celebrating the very best of business excellence.


The 2018 Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce Wellington Region Business Excellence Awards, held on the 30th of November, was a stunning showcase of a very diverse, progressive and vibrant business community. With finalists across 12 different categories and from all walks of life it was easy to see the real pride and passion of everyone involved in each and every business.


Neos Systems Ltd was named the Supreme Business Award Winner. Anthony Lummis Company Director says,” “It was a great night. For my business partner Nick Thompson and I, winning this award was huge recognition for the team. It was all down to their hard work in building the business, and ultimately Neos providing the very best IT support to our clients locally, nationally and overseas.”


Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce & Industry’s President Mr Neville Hyde says, “Hosting these annual awards is always a pleasure. It is a very important part of our role to be the voice for local business, making opportunities to showcase the diversity of excellence in businesses throughout the region and their contribution to our communities. The participating businesses are great examples of the talent we have, coupled with the drive and enthusiasm that is alive and well throughout the Wellington region’s business culture and community.


The event also celebrated the 75th anniversary of the Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce.


Huge thanks to all our Award sponsors: Boulcott Hospital, BNZ, GNS Science, Gibson Sheat, Mediaworks, Kendons, Pertronic Industries, Lower Hutt Events Centre, Hutt City Council & Upper Hutt City Council. Our supporting sponsors OnVideo Media, Brady Dyer Photography, Caii-Michelle Voice of Aotearoa, Gillies Group, Meridian Energy, Mevo, Ohau Wines Streamliner and Tall Poppy Hutt Valley.


For more information about the Wellington Region Business Excellence Awards, contact:

Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce

04 939 9821








Supreme Wellington Region Business Excellence Business of the Year:

Neos Systems Ltd



Wellington Region Business Excellence Award 2018 Category Finalists are:

Professional Services  -  Sponsored by Boulcott Hospital

  • McKone Consultancy
  • IR Legal
  • Virtual Assistants
  • Neos Systems Ltd (winner)
  • Gee and Hickton Funeral Directors

Manufacturing & Distribution   -  Sponsored by BNZ

  • Dulux
  • Times-7
  • Dzine Signs and Display lTd
  • Basil Jones Metal Spinners Ltd
  • Metal Art Ltd (winner)
  • Rutherford and Meyer

Technology & Innovation  -   Sponsored by GNS Science

  • Aspeq Limited
  • Open Polytechnic of New Zealand (winner)
  • Flight Plastics
  • Gillies McIndoe Research Institute 

Small Business   -   Sponsored by Gibson Sheat

  • Paintball Corp
  • Shazly Experience
  • Puravida
  • Happy Hire
  • Cameron Harrison - Butchery & Delicatessen (winner)
  • Creativa Design Studio
  • Healthy Start (NZ) Ltd

Hospitality & Tourism  -  Sponsored by Mediaworks

  • Expressions Arts and Entertainment Trust
  • Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club (winner)
  • Backbencher Ltd
  • La Bella Italia
  • Blue Carrot Catering
  • Sweet Vanilla
  • Buzz Cafe 

Trade Services & Suppliers  -  Sponsored by Kendons

  • Pipeline
  • All About Kitchens and Bathrooms
  • RDL Group
  • NZ Diving & Salvage Ltd
  • UPS Power Solutions Ltd
  • James Henry Ltd (winner)
  • Doll Face New Zealand

Special Categories:

Best Emerging Business  -  Sponsored by Pertronic Industries

  • Fix Federation
  • The Kids Party Bus
  • Cake it Forward
  • Alliance Fire & Security (winner)
  • Barlovska Craft Liqueurs
  • Healthy Start (NZ) Ltd
  • TM Quizzes 

Not For Profit  -  Sponsored by Lower Hutt Events Centre

  • Expressions Art and Entertainment Trust
  • Karahands Charitable Trust
  • YMCA Greater Wellington
  • Te Omanga Hospice (winner)
  • Common Unity Project Aotearoa
  • Youth Inspire
  • Gillies McIndoe Research Institute 

Sustainability  -   Sponsored by Hutt City Council

  • Paintball Corp
  • Flight Plastics
  • Shazly Experience
  • Metal Art
  • James Henry Ltd (winner)
  • Common Unity Project Aotearoa 

Young Business Person of the Year  -  Sponsored by Hutt News  

  • Sherri-Lee Sholtz - Puravida
  • Jason Wnek - Fix Federation
  • Sarah-Jane Jones - Basil Jones Metal Spinners Ltd
  • Jamie Weddell - Kendons Chartered Accountants
  • Michael Watson - Study Spy
  • Terri Boote - Virtual Assistants
  • Bob Laloli – EMA Group (winner)

Mayoral Award   -  Sponsored by Hutt City Council & Upper Hutt City Council

  • IR Legal
  • Shazly Experience
  • Te Omanga Hospice (winner)
  • Cake it Forward
  • Metal Art
  • Rutherford and Meyer
  • Gillies McIndoe Research Institute
  • Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club
  • EMA Group