People from all areas of the business community gathered to celebrate business excellence in the Wellington region held at Expressions Arts & Entertainment Centre, Upper Hutt on Friday 3 November 2017.


The Wellington Region Business Excellence Awards were presented at a black tie dinner attended by businesses, community leaders and both Local and Central Government representatives from across the Hutt Valley and wider Wellington Region.


Metco Engineering Limited was named supreme business of the year award winner at the Wellington Region business excellence awards hosted by Hutt Valley Chamber of Commerce and Industry Incorporated.

Supreme Wellington Region Business Excellence Business of the Year:

Metco Engineering Limited



Wellington Region Business Excellence Award 2017 Category Finalists are:

Manufacturing & Distribution                                            Sponsored by BNZ

  • Basil Jones Metal Spinners
  • Dulux New Zealand
  • Metco Engineering Limited (winner)
  • Survive-it Limited

Professional Services                                                         Sponsored by Boulcott Hospital

  • Go Figure 2005 Limited
  • IR Legal
  • LINK Business Broking – Wellington
  • Strictly Savvy (winner)

Small Business                                                                    Sponsored by Gibson Sheat

  • Happyhire Wellington
  • McKone Consultancy Ltd
  • Shazly Experience Hair and Wellness
  • Waglands Dogs’ Holiday Retreat Ltd (winner)
  • Whakatiki Concrete and Soil Supplies Ltd

Trade Services & Suppliers                                                 Sponsored by Crowe Horwath

  • James Henry Limited
  • Matrix Homes
  • RDL Group Ltd (winner)
  • Straight Flush Plumbing
  • Such Energy
  • Upper Hutt Hire Limited

Special Categories:

Best Emerging Business                                                      Sponsored by Hutt City Council

  • Alliance Fire and Security
  • Happyhire Wellington (winner)
  • Virtual Assistants Ltd

Not For Profit                                                                      Sponsored by Upper Hutt City Council

  • Edmund Hillary Fellowship
  • Upper Hutt Cosmopolitan Club (winner)
  • Young Enterprise

Young Business Person of the Year                                    Sponsored by WREDA

  • Jonny Wilson -Goodtime Music Academy (winner)
  • Benji Sneddon - RDL Group Ltd
  • Sophie Anquetil - Spoil Yourself Spa
  • Terri Boote - Virtual Assistants Ltd

Mayoral Award                                                                    Sponsored by Hutt News

  • Armstrong Downes Commercial 
  • Brendan Foot Supersite (winner)
  • Dews Construction Ltd
  • Dzine Signs and Display Ltd
  • Gethings Motors Ltd
  • McKone Consultancy Ltd
  • Powdercoating Services Ltd
  • Strictly Savvy
  • Such Energy